Wednesday, 17 October 2007

Dirty Shames - Blown Your Mind

Dirty Shames - Blown Your Mind (Philips 40474. 1967)

The Dirty Shames were from Montana and cut a couple of folk pop 45's, including a cover of Cocunut Grove. This isn't a LSD freakout, but a cool catchy upbeat folkpop number.


Kurt said...

Hell of a record! Quite a nugget!

Keith B said...

The Dirty Shames started as a trio in Canada their guitarist was Amos Garrett. When the trio relocated to New York they added Bob Smith on keyboards and harmony vocals and Roy Michaels on bass and lead vocals. Bob & Roy wrote all their 45 sides except for "Coconut Grove" of course. In 1968 Roy and Bob formed the wonderful Cat Mother & The All Night Newsboys.